APA Instruction Dr. Cue – Dr. Cue Pool Lesson 22: Suggested 9-Ball Breaking Position

August 23, 2011
By


www. poolplayers. com – Dr. Cue Pool Lesson 22 Suggested 9-Ball Breaking Position – 9-Ball players Have a better chance of running out If They Can spread the balls on the break and make a ball in the process. Suggested Learning and this high per centage of entry angle to the ball one insured Opportunity for the best game victory and enjoying this fast paced game Even more – a simple concept with amazing results!

share save 171 16 APA Instruction Dr. Cue   Dr. Cue Pool Lesson 22: Suggested 9 Ball Breaking Position

Tags: , , , , , ,

25 Responses to “ APA Instruction Dr. Cue – Dr. Cue Pool Lesson 22: Suggested 9-Ball Breaking Position ”

  1. mikeywikeylikey on August 23, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    to makemeup2010…apparently you want to get technical so, Dr. Cue is both right AND wrong according to your reasoning…youre saying IF you have two balls left the 9 on the break wins you also say if you have more the two balls the 9 on the break will not get you the win…im in APA and i can tell you he is both correct and incorrect

  2. makemeup2010 on August 23, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    @soeljams

    Wrong! In the APA you cannot win simply by making the 9 on the break unless you only need 2 points and you break in the 9 on the final rack to get those last 2 points. Simply breaking the 9-ball in doesn’t give you a win, only 2 points. However, breaking the 9 ball in BCA will give you a win for that game. APA, however, counts balls and therefor you need to make balls to accumulate the necessary points for your particular skill level to actually win! So, Dr. Cue IS correct!

  3. maydaddy05 on August 23, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    @soeljams You do not however, “win”, you only advance to the next rack. A “win” is getting to your handicap spot before the other player. Being an 8, I could technically make the 9 ball 75% of the time off the break and still lose to a 1.

  4. antigay7 on August 23, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    @tofusauce what do you wanna hear?

  5. tofusauce on August 23, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    @antigay7 lets hear it for the antigay…. .

  6. loganshero24 on August 23, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    @soeljams What he means by “you cannot? win 9-ball on the break” is that if you sink the 9-ball on the break in the APA you don’t win the match. You only earn points for the balls that you sink. You earn 1 point for each ball except for the 9-ball which is 2 points. In the long run your better off playing for control and sinking more balls than trying to sink the 9-ball every time.

  7. Odhinn222 on August 23, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    He might be a legend, but he has his bridge too close for a break shot, not to mention he nearly scratched on the break–I was always taught to try to keep it in the center with the one ball. It didn’t get kicked there either, it just came off the rack straight for the right head pocket.

  8. sixstringindo on August 23, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    why on earth did he place the cue ball on the head rail… that’s only making the opening shot more difficult

  9. MikeyLittle on August 23, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    No where does he say 9 on the break it is to spread the balls out to help maximize your points after the break which is the point of apa 9 ball.

  10. TheDarthMorphias on August 23, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    Making the nine on the snap is good, and has a small advantge as well. You get the two points and the break (which in turn may drop more). It has about the same advantage as an early nine. Plus your opponet has to rack once more, which has some mental pressure. Main point to the break is to drop some and spread the rack well. Also a 1 (hdcp) goes to 14 and a 9 (hdcp) goes to 75.

  11. Kriterian on August 23, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    You don’t play for number of “wins” in 9 ball like the pro’s do, where only the 9 ball counts as a win.

    In the APA you play for points, with the 1 – 8 being worth one point each and the 9 being worth 2 pts. If you only made the 9 on the break, you’d get 2 points and the other 8 are dead, which isn’t a win.

  12. Kriterian on August 24, 2011 at 12:07 am

    Where did you get your information?

    Skill level 9′s only need 75 points.

  13. madrack1 on August 24, 2011 at 12:10 am

    Yes exactly, Increasing the maximum energy into the rack Greater increasing your chance to make a ball to stay at the table and possibly making the nine ball on the break that’s the way you should break in 8 ball or 9 ball but 9 on the break 50/50 chance , Depends on the person racking the balls also… RACK EM!!!!!!!!

  14. chavezglassworks on August 24, 2011 at 12:18 am

    it doesn’t say any where that is was for a 9 ball on the break just the way to get the maximum energy into the rack.

  15. CYMACGoSu on August 24, 2011 at 1:16 am

    APA/Point Rules are all fucking stupid. Just saying.

  16. bandit7498 on August 24, 2011 at 1:26 am

    @soeljams I think he was getting at the bigger picture. It wins the rack but it doesn’t win the match. You have to reach your designated points per your handicap to win the match.

  17. malefactoredpunk on August 24, 2011 at 1:27 am

    because your going to get the table and be able to break again.

  18. madrack1 on August 24, 2011 at 2:09 am

    TO SOELJAMS About the 9 on the break, A win of the game, Yes… 9 on the break patch also, In the APA As long as you don’t scratch But you only got 2 points that game you didn’t win your match until you reach your points of your skill level which is 14 for a 1 to 100 for a 9 so NEXT GAME….! RACK EM…!

  19. ihcug90 on August 24, 2011 at 2:49 am

    i have also started using this break and been pretty consistent with making a ball in and having ok position. great little advantage for my game

  20. jburkhammer on August 24, 2011 at 2:51 am

    I started using this break vs off the rail position playing in apa, and I make 1-4 balls each time and get ok position usually, helped me point up alot, as well as spreading the balls more. perfect for my game, when you make 4 balls on your first break it seems to get your opponent off balance and pressures him to catch up, forcing errors. I am loving it!! thanx doc!!!

  21. misctube on August 24, 2011 at 2:57 am

    Wow Dr. Cue! I met and played a game with him once :D He lives in Cloverdale, ten mins away from my alma mater :D ~misctube

  22. mtszabo on August 24, 2011 at 3:43 am

    @Trakatero: True, but if you’re doing all the breaking, your opponenet isn’t getting any ponts…

    But I agree, it’s better to play for position in 9-ball… unless you’re Dr. Cue.

  23. Trakatero on August 24, 2011 at 4:35 am

    Acording to APA rules, if you make the 9 on the break you win the table, but only 2 points, remember in APA the game is about points, so why would you want to only get 2 points if you can get good position to run the table and get more points…

  24. XHopeDecaysX on August 24, 2011 at 4:41 am

    Making the 9 on the break is a win, logically.

    You can hit the 1 – 9, if the 9 goes in, it’s win. Why would it be any different?

  25. BF2TJShorty on August 24, 2011 at 5:38 am

    yeah good theory there, but execution wasnt that good

Leave a Reply

Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree Plugin